Annually the Representative Assembly will select from nominations those persons who, by service to the ideals and purpose of the WIAA Representative Assembly, exemplify the leadership and dedication given all students and member schools by Gareth Giles.

  • A minimum of 5 years of service as a Representative Assembly member and/or WIAA Board member and/or Representative Assembly standing or special committee member.
  • Leadership in the WIAA legislative process and procedures.
  • Positive services in the resolution of problems.
  • Dedication and loyalty to the WIAA and the implementation of WIAA rules among the schools of the nominees' WIAA District.
  • Consistent promotion of the purposes of the WIAA in giving first consideration to the activity programs and participating students.

Gareth Giles Award Nomination Form

Nominations are to be submitted to, received by and verified by the WIAA Executive Board as meeting the criteria by the second Friday of January of each year. The Executive Board will select the annual recipient(s) from the list of nominees.  The Gareth Giles Award is presented annually at Winter Coalition.

WIAA Assistant Executive Director



2021 Rob Swaim, Auburn SD
2020 Tom Doyle, District 2
Dwayne Johnson, Port Angeles
Rich Rouleau, Naches
2019 Greg Erickson, Marysville
Wendy Malich, Franklin Pierce SD
Jim Meyerhoff, WIAA
Rick Wells, Puyallup
2018 Mickey Fowler, District 2
Mick Hoffman, Vancouver Public Schools
Eric McCurdy, Seattle Public Schools
Jim Piccolo, District 1
2017 Bob Jones, Auburn
Shelly Thiel, WIAA District 3
2016 No Recipients
2015 Ed Ploof, Bellarmine Prep
Bill Bieloh, Walla Walla
2014 Rich Frazer, WIAA District 4
Mark Swofford, North Mason
Tim Thomsen, Sumner
2013 Art Bickler, Freeman
Randy Dolven, Kamiakin
Dan Heltsley, Bethel
Dave Lutes, Kent
Wayne McKnight, West Valley
Ray Whitlow, Tri-Cities Prep
2012 Bob Dowding, Seattle
Harlan Kredit, Lynden
Marty Friedman, Riverside
John Miller, Spokane
Jim Murphy, Newport
Bruce Phillips, Auburn
2011 Randy Ryan, Spokane
2010 Ken Axelson, Lynden
2009 Karst Brandsma, Everett
2008 Mary Erickson, Centralia
Art Jarvis, Tacoma
2007 Mark Cullen, University Prep
John McGregor, Lind-Ritzville 
2006 Judy Jennings, Seattle Christian
2005 Dick Behrens, St. John
Lee Day, Kittitas
Dean Naffziger, Rochester
2004 Bill Gant, Sunnyside
2003 Cliff Gillies, South Bend
Dele Gunnerson, Lilliwaup
Pat Hoonan, Bonney Lake
Jim Spence, Quincy
Jan Truant, Shoreline
2002 Joe Bullock, Tacoma
Bob Kirk, Pomeroy
Joe Richer, Cheney
2001 Ed Tingstad, Spanaway
2000 George Nordi, Tacoma
Ron Bennett, Montesano
Kim Wilson, Edmonds
1989 Clayton Dunn, Pullman
Dick Grabenhorst, Naselle
Don White, Mt. Si
1988 Bill Brumsickle, Centralia
Bob Eller, Wenatchee
1987 Don Batey, Selah
Jack Burrell, Kent
Dave DuVall, Mount Vernon
Dick Fike, St. John
Jim Rothnie, Edmonds
Walt Thorp, Odessa
1986 Donald Koplitz

Washington Interscholastic Activities Association  |   435 Main Ave S   |  Renton, WA 98057  |  (425) 687-8585  |  © 2024
    Mission & Strategic Plan
    WIAA Staff
    Member School Directory
    Districts & Leagues
    Classifications 2020-2024
    Executive Board
    Schedule & Score Finder
    Statewide League Standings
    Season Beginning & Ending Dates
    Past Results
    State Championship Dates
    WIAA Live Mobile App
    Ticket Prices
    Tournament History
    Athlete of the Week
    Distinguished Alumni
    Women in Sport
    Team of the Month
    Coaches School
    CoachUp! Washington
    Smart Choices Scholarship Program
    Scholastic Cup
    Scholastic Awards Program
    Hall of Fame
    Health & Wellness
    Student Eligibility Center
    Become an Official
    Discrimination & Harassment Reporting Form
    Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    Contest Interruption Process
    Nutrition Center
    Job Openings